Skip to content

All Hallow’s Eve

November 1, 2011

I had every intention to get into the part. My mind wandered all day. Should I attend some adult Halloween Party? No such luck! Option two, get the candy and sit home, give out treats. I chose the latter.

The hours wore on. After an early morning of Zumba, I was beat, I fell asleep. 7pm I awoke saying ‘hey, my doorbell hasn’t rang, where are they?’ ‘Where are those trick or treaters? I’ve got an arsenal of this candy and it must get out of this house because not just for the occasion but my waistline can’t stand it! The enemy must get out of my house, stop tricking me, treat somebody!.” Of course I realized very soon that having fallen asleep in daytime hours, there were no inviting lights at night, no possibilities at this house one might think.

Lights on I opened my front door, I sat my pumpkin filled with candy in front of the door for all to see, `my doorbell rang, yeah they came. There were angels, witches,  Count Dracula, scream characters, you name it. I was elated! ‘Hello trick or treaters, Happy Halloween!’  I was dropping candy in one little angel’s bag whilst asking, ‘do you want some Dots too?’ She replied, ‘ I already have Dots and quietly asking , what else do you have in that pumpkin?’.’ I had the urge to crack up with laughter, there’s always a truly innocent, honest soul. Now what kid will say no to any amount of candy? I loved it because it restored my hope in the diversity of character.

The honesty of the youngest angel treater tonight brought me back, memories flooded in. I recalled my youthful days and how much I loved Halloween, a chance to recapture, something. My mother made us shoulder hold white cotton cloth bags.  My bag was full of popcorn balls, candied apples, wrapped treats until later years when stories emerged of cruel people implanting razor blades and other atrocities, stealing a moment.

Back in my childhood days, parents had more security in the idea of letting their children roam the neighborhood on their own with less fear of predators. Just saying that it was different then. Now don’t get me wrong, they were still mindful hence me being flanked by the awesome three. I would accompany my older brothers, stroll the neighborhood in search of treats, collect the loot. As the baby surrounded by three taller pillars of protection, they were proud to allow me to be front girl,sister for they had years on me and it wasn’t their first rodeo.

Present day, I loved seeing parents hovering in the background, a watchful eye, many in costume joining in the fun allowing their kids to safely enjoy the holiday practices, the spirit of the event.  The thrill of Halloween, the costumes, the love of candy and the sheer joy I derived from the happiness of others was such a treat!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Alfie permalink
    November 1, 2011 10:39 pm

    What a lovely story ,,, totally an enjoyable and fun read!

    Like

  2. Lisa Simpson permalink
    November 2, 2011 1:34 pm

    That was great! Certainly, it put a smile on my face and a chuckle in my heart!

    Like

  3. Sara Irvine permalink
    November 2, 2011 1:40 pm

    Awesome story and memories! Halloween was different and more personal years ago. It is sad it has to be bought wrapped candy today. I miss the candy apples, popcorn balls, rice krispie candy, punch and cookies served on the porches! Thanks for sharing…Sara

    Like

  4. Rochelle permalink
    November 7, 2011 12:33 am

    It is great to see the world though the eyes of a child again.
    I had the pleasure of going with my grandchildren and the joy was there for them like it was for me in days past.
    Watching my daughters now being the protected mother to their children as I was with them made my heart warm. (We teach, and they DO learn!)
    I must say the adults who gave was giving them the true spirt of the night,
    Guess you can say for that holiday, we grow up but some of us refuse to be grown! ( LOL)

    Good read cus,
    Rochelle’

    Like

  5. Dr Yes permalink
    November 12, 2011 5:34 pm

    Sharon, so good to read you back blogging again. Keep it up!! Love, from the King.

    Like

Leave a comment